WIP: Chimera 728

Meanwhile At College

I was able to scrap some money together the other day and decided that I would buy another Chimera. I honestly, think it’s a load of crap that they cost almost $40 now. It is nice though that I can get some new bits for the Chimera, but taking away a majority of the accessories makes the kit lacking. A new Chimera will cost about $37.75; when only 3 years ago they only cost $35.00 and had the tank accessories sprue added to the kit. Now if i want the sprue kit, I gotta fork over $15.00 for something that was included. I’m getting charged more, for less. It’s like they are the Federal Reserve and IRS of miniature games.

The Beast of APCs

Tashorn 912th Armoured Regiment Chimera.

It’s all built, but it needs some paint. I’m thinking grey!

Enough about the rant, lets get to the model. The Chimera which was for the most part, easy to build, but I had a major problem with the hatch, and it’s sticking out a good 1/2 cm from the hull. Also, the commander didn’t even have hands to operate the heavy stubber that mounted. I used the arms from a heavy weapons team sprue, which did the trick, but it looks slightly goofy. The gun looks like it is arcing a little to much, but other than that, no other complaints.

The trajectory is off at little bit.

The trajectory is off at little bit.

The stowage you on the Chimera came from an old accessory sprue from 1998. The stowage seemed like a nice touch to add, but I think adding more stowage wouldn’t be a bad idea, however, I got other things to work on at this moment.

IMG_20131010_120258

Stowage courtesy of 2nd Edition Warhammer 40k

Leave a Reply

