Finished: Armored Fist Squad 728

Meanwhile At College
It’s done, it is finally completed. I feel I like I some what accomplished something, but at any rate this squad is done. This squad took me a better part of a week to finish up and that’s including the Chimera APC. Finishing the project, I found out, was rather easy; Since I have (literally) a small book of decals. I finally decided to use them up and the I’m happy with the result. Don’t get me wrong though; hand painted numbers are fine, but I don’t paint numbers all that well.

Marching across the desk-top like they should.

Marching across the desk-top like they should.

The squad is rather basic, but that’s how I prefer my squads. I like to have one flamer per-squad, but sometimes grenade launchers are very handy against light infantry and light armor. Lately, I’ve been putting more stock in flamer-throwers, because I think they are more useful when it comes to the over-watch rule. I still like grenade launchers though, because of the range and they have the same firing capability as a mortar team.

The models seem to be screaming a lot that of late.

In all their black and blue and white all over, polka dot glory.

The APC is another story. Much of the work done behind the APC was rather tedious with me having to go back and paint certain spots after I dropped it and surprisingly not break! Since I still paint with old GW colors, I finally got into the technique of layer, but now the new GW paints do that for you, but at least the layering process isn’t as hard anymore.

A view of the left side.

A view of the left side.

A view of the right side.

A view of the right side.

First, for the whole tank I used codex grey as a base layer, then did dry-brushed layer of fortress grey, then a highlight of fortress grey (watered down).

A view of the turret and gunner.

A view of the turret and gunner.

The weapons were based painted with boltgun metal and then layered with chain-mail, then inked with tin-bitz and black ink. The heavy stubber’s ammo can was layered with codex grey, then layered with camo green and highlighted with a watered down sunburst yellow.

The smile written with micro-pen references a photo from the Iraq war.

The smile written with micro-pen references a photo from the Iraq war.

The optics of the crew members helmet and the view ports were painted by layering, regal blue as the base layer, then enchanted blue, then fortress grey then skull white.

Leave a Reply

