WIP: Armored Fist Command Squad 306

Mean While At College

This project I started in the summer, but I had to take a quick break for the time being while I was working at Ariens Company during the summer. Now that I have time during Winterim break to sit down for once, and finish something, I would first like to say that I like the newer command sprues that Games-Workshop has made for the imperial Guard.

Imperial Guard Ho!

Imperial Guard Command Squad, Ho!

Squad 306 is a platoon command squad for 10th company’s first platoon. So they have to look over glorified, so I gave them the best thing ever, a platoon standard. The squad is nearing its painting phase and the models are almost complete. What I have to focus on right now is getting the Chimera repainted, but since it’s already done, I may ink the tank.

As for right the now, the only models I have done are the junior officer model and the vox-caster, who needs a chainsword attached to his communication pack. They might get an extensive overhaul once I’m officially done with them. However, we will see what happens.

Problems, Set-Backs and Re-paints!

The flag was the first challenge to tackle, I had paint and re-painted the flag multiple times in order to figure what kind of color I wanted to use, but in the end I decided to go with orange and blue, barely highlight it and ink it with black to give it some depth. Even though I’m done with the flag, I still have to detail it, and highlight it more.

This is last time I'm painting this flag!

This is last time I’m painting this flag!

Other issues I ran across while painting was thinning the paints  to paint the flag. I may be an amateur at painting, but I think I need to use the new paint system from Games Workshop. I’m not sure if I want to, but I’m not going to get left behind. I got left behind in 5th edition and was shocked to find about that they switched to a hull point system.

Leave a Reply

